Download our Mobile App for real-time game scores, standings, stats, schedules, team rosters & more... Download Now

Maroon Hockey Club defeats New England Crows to capture 2005 title at 2019 Mini Chowder Cup.

FOXBORO – The 2019 Mini Chowder Cup has come to a close and with that its top prize has been claimed. Maroon Hockey Club was left the top team standing as they defeated the New England Crow in a heatedly contested tilt 1-0 in a shootout to claim the tournament’s 2005 Division Championship.

There were 25-minutes of regulation played in the championship contest, followed by an additional five of 3-on-3 overtime hockey. Throughout that time there were chances aplenty for both sides, plenty of special teams and impassioned play, but it was the play of the goaltenders – Joey Costanzo for Maroon Hockey and the Crow’s Rudy Guimond – that was the shining spot on the game’s story. A jewel which was encapsulated in the closing minutes of both regulation and in the extra session.

With just 11-seconds remaining, Costanzo – who would later be named the All-Tournament Most Valuable Player for the 2005 Division – made a stonewall stop on a 2-on-0 to shutdown the Crows and send the game to overtime still tied at 0-0. Guimond – who was a force throughout regulation, keeping the Maroon attack at bay while his team struggled to find a rhythm – matched his counterpart’s save from the end of regulation with a point blank save on a Mitchell Brooks’ one-timer with just under a minute remaining in the extra session, all but assuring the championship would be decided in a shootout.

While Guimond’s performance was worthy of victory, unfortunately for him and his Crow teammates, they suffered the same fate as they did in 2018 when they fell in the 2005 Division Championship. With goals from Chase Pirtle and Charlie Cerrato, Maroon Hockey Club won the shootout and the 2005 Division Championship at New England Pro Am Hockey’s 2019 Mini Chowder Cup.


2019 Mini Chowder Cup 2005 All-Tournament Team


Landan Resendes (New England Crows), Mitchell Brooks and Chase Coughlan (Maroon Hockey Club)


Rory Gilmour (Maroon Hockey Club) and Tommy Rose (New England Crows)


Rudy Guimond (New England Crows)

Most Valuable Player

Joey Costanzo (Maroon Hockey Club)